Planning to get a new Video Card, suggestions?

EJMM

• 2 weeks later...

Are you getting a video card or a graphics card, or are they one in the same?

I'm planning to get a new graphics card. The one I have right now is a GeForce 2 64 mb (dead). I was thinking of getting a 256 mb because they aren't too terribly expensive, but is that good enough to run BFME II on high, SW Battlefront 2 on high(or at least good), EAW, MTW, all on highest settings? Would I have to get a 512 mb one? The one I'm looking at is a 256, but there is a 512 in the Best Buy ad this week, a Raedon...what should I get?

Btw...my comp. has a 1.6 Ghz processor, so would these games work on high and not slow down?

Protecting the world from those who have an IQ higher than 30! Huzzah!

Trust me...I'm a professional.

Some other members and I are trying to be superheroes and save the forums. But we can't do it on our own. We need your help! Join us!

http://img504.imageshack.us/img504/5380/pffuserbar2modnp0.jpg

I have a 2.66 and it still eats up my processor, i'm going to get ht soon...

As for the video card, ram depends. I have a 5500 with 256MB and it runs just like a 5200 with 128MB. Now, seeing that your comp is well over a year old, you probably can't get anything above a 6 series card. Also, look for DDR2 memory or DDR3 on your card, though you will be hard pressed to find an agp or pci card with DDR3.

DTH, if you comp is about more than a year old it probably doesn't have a PCI-E slot, so your stuck with Geforce 5 and 6 series, or ATI X600 or lower... :-\

"The leading cause of death among fashion models is falling through street grates" - Dave Barry.

If you have AGP upgrade to either 7600 (dont remember which one was AGP .. might be GT)

Or an x850 pro

X850 is faster but 7600 supports shader model 3 (which actually doesnt matter since they look exactly the same, its just a bit more efficient than SM 2.0