Multiple Instances

darkknight109

Hey all. New guy to the forums. Nice to meet you and all that rubbish.

I'm a big Rebellion fan. Been playing it almost since it came out. I'm not very good at it, but then again with this game's AI, you don't exactly need to be Thrawn to carry the day.

Anyways, I do have a question for the board. I'm currently planning on using Rebellion as a tool to sim battles for an online strategy game I'm GMing. However, in order for this to work, I need to have the ability to set up two fleets and have them attack each other. Is there any way I can run two seperate instances of the game on one machine, so I can, in essence, play multiplayer against myself and watch the fireworks.

It sounds like a relatively simple thing to do... but I'm aware that isn't always the case. So is there any way for me to run two instances of the game at the asme time?

• SWR Staff - Executive
May be able to do that if you set up some virtual machines. There's VMWare and Microsoft's Virtual PC to try that

Evaders99

http://swrebellion.com/images/banners/rebellionbanner02or6.gif Webmaster

http://swrebellion.com/images/banners/swcicuserbar.png Administrator

Fighting is terrible, but not as terrible as losing the will to fight.

- SW:Rebellion Network - Evaders Squadron Coding -

The cake is a lie.

Either that or get one of the other members to get a copy and then do it between the two of you.

Elvismiggell. Strike me down and i will become more powerful than you can ever imagine...

Nu kyr'adyc, shi taab'echaaj'la

Not gone, merely marching far away

I'd like to avoid having a second person in on the simming, as it would give them access to parts of the game I don't want them to have access to (like enemy ship stats). I'm using RebEd to mix things up a little bit so no one has any advantage over anyone else should they own Rebellion.