Linux Questions

At the moment I'm using the operating system SuSE v10.00. This isn't my primary operating system as I much prefer the simplicity of Windows, however I needed a Linux system for school.

As I'm new to the OS I was hoping that someone here would have knowledge of it and be able to lend me a hand with something. In order to update my graphics card drivers I have to install a Proprietary Driver Installer from ATI. The problem is, I can't figure out how the hell to install anything. I can click on the downloaded file, but it attempts to open it as a text file. I have a feeling I'll have to resort to the command line (not something I relish as I hate command lines and will have to learn how to use it in the first place), but any help would be greatly appreciated.

History is on the move, Captain. Those who cannot keep up with it will be left behind, to watch from a distance. And those who stand in our way will not watch at all.

If you hate command lines, you're not going to enjoy linux. Once you figure the basics out, its not a hard system to use, but for those of us (myself included) who are used to how Windows operates, it takes some time to get the basics down. Look for a FAQ on your particular linux, perhaps on their website. Or some kind of newbie guide. Don't feel too bad about it, I still can't use linux.

Star Wars: Rebellion, A Field Manual

"O be wise, what can I say more?"

• SWR Staff - Executive

Well most of the time, you'll need to end up compiling things to get it to run. That is, time to figure out how to use "make" - most scripts include a Makefile to do the compiling in a simple batch

I'm not too sure how drivers are done, as I haven't really installed any of those myself. May depend on recompiling the kernel .. I know my friend did that a few times to get my linux system to work

There also many be some precompiled packages that could help. It looks like SuSe uses one called YaST - maybe that could help you install things

Evaders99