Re: Need for Fog of War

Is there really a need for fog of war?  

48 members have voted

1. 1. Is there really a need for fog of war?

• Yes!
    • No.
    • In certain situations
    • Only for Ground Battles
    • Only for Space Battles

Having seen the game in action I found myself wondering what purpose does fog of war play in this title.  While I like the ability to hide units in asteroid fields and think it makes sense on planets with atmospheric conditions/jungles, I fail to see the benefit and rationale behind it in every battle.  While I believe that the defenders can build senors to dispell it, I'm not sure it should exist in open space and *nomal* planet conditions to begin with. 

As a play mechanic I think it would be a lot more enjoyable if fog of war was the exception rather than the norm.  What are your thoughts/impressions?

Fog of War has always represented what your units cant see (of course), and I think without it, the battle is unrealistic. Fog of war is necessary to perform sneak attacks on your enemy and so they dont know all your building strategy. I think removing fog of war would be a bad idea personally.

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/3269/pffuserbar2globalmodnx9.jpg

> Petroglyph Forums Moderator

> LucasForums Moderator

Well, given the relative proximity of the maps, the Star Wars era technology would make any fog of war as represented in EAW as silly.  So this is an issue of a game mechanic being included for RTS play that is not SW accurate by any means.

My Death Star is bigger than your Death Star!

"The XML is strong with this one!"

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/teradyn.png

Fog of War has always represented what your units cant see (of course), and I think without it, the battle is unrealistic.