Retreating in Battle

Rogue NineCH

While I'm no RTS expert, I have played my share of RTS games and one thing that has always bugged me. When the battle isn't going well and you decide it's best to retreat and regroup, your men always stop firing and turn their backs on the enemy to run. It would be great if a "Strategic Retreat" button was added so that when a retreat was called, your army or at least a portion of it would simply "Walk backwards" while still exchanging fire with the enemy. To me this is more realistic and would enhance the depth of the game. Now I am not sure how this would work in space, but since most vessels can fire in all directions, this wouldn't apply so much as to ground forces.

What do you guys think?

Most RTS don't have persistency like this one does, so if they dont have something similar to this in already, they will probably have to add it in soon. During the E3 show, I think one of the demonstrators mentioned something about a retreat. I can't find that video right now, but if anyone knows what part I am talking about, did they show the retreat and what did it look like?

My Death Star is bigger than your Death Star!

"The XML is strong with this one!"

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/teradyn.png

The retreats show units in the classic style of moving forward, not backward as they retreat. By this I mean they rotate 180 degrees and run for it. The video is the long 47 minute one, and they show several retreats during the course of it.

I would like to see fire during backwards movement in game, because I feel it worked very well in 'Dawn of War' and would like to see it again but done even better. However I'm no fool to suggest this late in development they will add that in. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but it really does look unlikely. Also, it doesn't make sense for certain units (An AT-AT for example) to move backwards while firing forwards. So for ground portions it's not a big issue, in my opinion.