First impressions from a noob

Soltaris

Well this is my first time trying out HW2 so take my observations with a grain of salt :roll: Also keep in mind I don't actually own this game so I played it at a friends house and I didn't get too much time to play with it 8O

To be honest I really didn't like the game too much. The mod itself is great, it's HW2's gameplay that I couldn't adjust to. This is mostly because there's too much stuff going on all at once. It's like running the tactical game in rebellion with a larger environment, while you have to do all your resource scouting/collecting and ship building/production and technologies research, etc and all the while keeping a lookout for what the enemy is doing. You have to constantly manage all these things all at once!

:arrow: Keeping an eye on the enemy is difficult to do with everything else going on. You can only keep the screen panned in one direction and everything is real-time.

:arrow: Units are hard to select - especially smaller units that are bunched up together. It would be nice just to have a panel like rebellion has at the top of the tactical display. The one in HW2 only has units you manually put there.

:arrow: I couldn't figure out how to dock stuff. It would have a dock selection, my fighters would move around a bunch, but they didn't seem to dock in my ISD III's. Also is there even any advantage or reason to dock them in this game?

:arrow: Traveling long distances doesn't seem practical to control. Also I didn't have time to figure out if there is an option to jump to light speed or if there are any effects/benefits to having an interdictor with gravity well generators.